Fortunate Ones, Nick Earle and More NL Artists up for Canadian Folk Music Awards

Some of Newfoundland and Labradors finest will represent our province at the 2020 Canadian Folk Music Awards in Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island.

The 15th edition of the CFMAs will take place April 3-4, 2020, in Charlottetown, PE, at the PEI Convention Centre.

105 nominees, hailing from across Canada will be represented this Spring – from Igloolik, NU to Mount Pearl, NL and from Gabriola Island, BC to Rustico, PEI  – celebrating the breadth and depth of folk music in Canada.

Chiefly among the nominees representing Newfoundland and Labrador are Fortunate Ones. The duo of Andrew James O’Brien and Catherine Allan are no stranger to accolades as they vie for Vocal Group of the Year for their sophomore album Hold Fast.

Next up is Eastern Owl, with members Jenelle Duval, Danielle Benoit, Stacey Howse up for Indigenous Songwriter(s) of the Year for their album Qama’si.

Finally a pair of amazing talents from our rocky isle will both compete in the same category. Blues sensation Nick Earle and brother-sister singer-songwriter duo Conway are both up for Young Performer(s) of the Year. Conway’s self-titled record earned them a nomination, while Earle’s debut solo effort Breaking New Ground earned him a look from CFMA voters.

Established by Canada’s burgeoning and internationally-recognized folk music community, the awards currently boast 19 categories. Nominees are chosen for each category. A two stage jury process by 100 jurors located across Canada representing all official provinces, territories and languages determine the official recipients in each category.

Tickets and wristbands will go on sale in early 2020. Visit www.folkawards,ca for all your information on the 2020 Canadian Folk Music Awards


Post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *