Saluting Sounds of ‘The Rock’: MusicNL Awards 2019

MusicNL hands out the hardware this January, saluting the sounds that make up our provincial soundtrack at their annual awards showcase in St. John’s


It’s that time of year again, time to honour the very best music in Newfoundland and Labrador, the songs and sounds that make up the very fabric of who we are. 

Tip the hat

The 2019 MusicNL Awards tip the hat to the musicians and industry folk who shape the soundtrack of Newfoundland and Labrador. The MusicNL Awards celebration will take place in St. John’s from January 26-28, 2020.

It all kicks off at the Foran Room at St. John’s City Hall on January 26th with the annual MusicNL general meeting, Young Performers’ Spotlight and presentation of the Industry Awards. 

On Monday, July 27th the action heads to the LSPU Hall for an industry funding discussion featuring special guests from the likes of FACTOR and SOCAN, a Songwriters’ Circle and presentation of the Ron Hynes SOCAN Songwriter of the Year. 

The following day on Tuesday, January 28th the 2019 Awards Show takes place at the LSPU Hall, featuring the presentation of awards across 15 categories including Album of the Year, Female Artist of the Year, Male Artist of the Year, and introducing Indigenous Artist/Group of the Year. 

“The MusicNL 2019 awards is a long-standing and distinguished event that brings together working artists and representatives in the province’s music industry,” says Amy House, Chair of MusicNL. 

“The staff and board of MusicNL are very excited to present the nominees and winners in 28 award categories throughout the MusicNL 2019 Awards Celebration. The music scene is definitely growing and diversifying, and we are proud to announce that this year’s slate includes new and upcoming artists and industry reps, almost half of which are youth, women, and indigenous performers.”

Eclectic group 

The wide and eclectic group of nominees make up a variety of genres and disciplines in Newfoundland and Labrador’s vibrant and thriving music scene. 

Leading the way in nominations are Jenina MacGillivray, Nick Earle, Rozalind MacPhail, and Rum Ragged with four nominations each. 

Fellow multiple award nominees include Adam Baxter, Carolina East, Eastern Owl, and Galaa with three nods, followed by Dion Todd, Elling Lien, Natasha Blackwood, and Youngtree & The Blooms with two a piece.

MacGillivray, whose haunting album Marion earned her nominations for Female Artist of the Year, Folk/Roots Artist of the Year, Rising Star of the Year and Album of the Year is a longtime music educator and respected member of Newfoundland’s music community. 

Fellow Album of the Year nominee Nick Earle, formerly one half of national award-winning blues duo Earle & Coffin, broke through in a big way in 2019 with his nominated solo debut Breaking New Ground. Earle banked further nominations for Male Artist of the Year, Rising Star of the Year and Rock Artist of the Year. 

Educator, singer-songwriter and master of the flute Rozalind MacPhail shares in the four-way-tie for most nominations, with nods for Artist of the Year, Female Artist of the Year, Music Educator of the Year and Side Musician of the Year.

A ‘ragged’ nominee

Rounding out the big four is trad fan favourites Rum Ragged, who banked nominations for Music Video of the Year, Group of the Year, Folk/Roots Artist of the Year and Album of the Year for The Hard Times. 

The Newfoundland Herald is likewise honoured to be nominated for two awards (Media Person of the Year, Dillon Collins and Company of the Year) amongst such outstanding company.

For a complete list of nominees, categories and MusicNL Week events visit the organizations official site

Post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *